Prev Next  

Advertisement

How to Use the Stars to Find Your Way

Lots More Information

Author's Note: How to Use the Stars to Find Your Way

While in most cases, star navigation is more a hobby than a tool in modern times, I learned in the course of my research something at once reassuring and a little alarming: Even now, your airplane pilot and cruise-ship navigator learn the art. Should their instruments fail, they can find their way the old-fashioned way. Good to know they have a back-up. Frightening to know they might have to use it.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Beyond the Map. "Octants, Quadrants, and Sextants." (April 15, 2013) http://www.beyondthemap.ca/english/ship_octant.html
  • Blue Planet Biomes. "Sonoran Desert." (April 17, 2013) http://www.blueplanetbiomes.org
  • Devlin, Keith. "Those Amazing Animal Mathematicians." Mathematical Association of America. October 1999. (April 8, 2013) http://www.maa.org/devlin/devlin_10_99.html
  • Gooley, Tristan. "The Future of Celestial Navigation." The Natural Navigator. (April 8, 2013) http://www.naturalnavigator.com/the-library/articles/celestial-navigation/
  • Gooley, Tristan. "How to Find Your Way Using the Stars." The Natural Navigator. (April 8, 2013) http://www.naturalnavigator.com/the-library/articles/how-to-find-your-way-using-the-stars/
  • Jones, Robert F. "Steven Callahan." People. March 28, 1983. (April 13, 2013) http://www.people.com/people/archive/article/0,,20084604,00.html
  • KirchdorferWeb Astronomy. "Measuring the Night Sky." (April 11, 2013) http://www.kirchdorferweb.com/astronomy/beginner1.html
  • National Geographic Education. "Navigation." (April 12, 2013) http://education.nationalgeographic.com/education/encyclopedia/navigation/?ar_a=1
  • Nature Skills. "Navigation without a Compass." March 26, 2009. (April 11, 2013) http://www.natureskills.com/survival/land-navigation/
  • NPR - Talk of the Nation. "Stories of GPS Directions Gone Wrong." Aug. 12, 2009. (April 12, 2013) http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=111809897
  • The Old Farmer's Almanac for Kids, Volume 1. "Find Your Way Without a Compass." (April 8, 2013) http://www.almanac.com/content/find-your-way-without-compass
  • Ordnance Survey Magazine. "Navigating using the sun, moon and stars." (April 10, 2013) http://www.magazine.ordnancesurveyleisure.co.uk/magazine/tscontent/editorials/outdoor-skills/map-and-navigation-skills/sun-moon-and-stars.html
  • Rao, Joe. "The Big Dipper and the Cross." Space. May 12, 2006. (April 12, 2013) http://www.space.com/2400-big-dipper-cross.html
  • Rao, Joe. "Navigating By the Stars." Space. Sept. 19, 2008. (April 10, 2013) http://www.space.com/5849-navigating-stars.html
  • Science By Email. "Try this: Finding South." (April 12, 2013) http://www.csiro.au/helix/sciencemail/activities/crux.html
  • The Science Notebook. "Astronomy – Exploring the Night Sky: Finding Altitude." (April 11, 2013) http://science-notebook.com/astronomy01.html#Determining_Altitude
  • Sloan Digital Sky Survey. "Mapping the Sky." (April 14, 2013) http://cas.sdss.org/dr7/en/astro/mapsky/mapping_the_sky.asp
  • Smith, Mike. "Comparing the sky from different latitudes." Star Attractions Column. North Museum of Natural History and Science. Sept. 1, 2012. (April 11, 2013) http://www.northmuseum.org/Portals/0/planetarium/cosmic%20mike/Star%20Attractions%20Column%20-%20Sept%201%202012.pdf
  • Te Ara Encyclopedia of New Zealand. "Story: Southern Cross." (April 11, 2013) http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/southern-cross/page-1
  • Thaler, Andrew David. "Sailing by Starlight: The lost art of celestial navigation." Southern Fried Science. Sept. 27, 2010. (April 10, 2013) http://www.southernfriedscience.com/?p=7827
  • Wilderness Survival Skills. "Navigate by the Southern Cross." (April 10, 2013) http://www.wilderness-survival-skills.com/southern-cross.html
  • VanHaren, Amy. "Celestial Navigation." Appalachian Mountain Club/AMC Outdoors. Jan/Feb 2013. (April 8, 2013) http://www.outdoors.org/publications/outdoors/2013/learnhow/tips-for-celestial-navigation.cfm

Advertisement


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement