Permits to Transport Harvested Game
Every state requires a permit to transport harvested game. With these permits come specific tagging and transportation requirements.
Before moving a carcass, you must tag it with a completed field tag that includes your name, address, hunting license number, date and time of the kill. This tag must be written in ink and stay on the carcass until it has been presented to an official game check station. If you don't have an official field tag, you can make one, as long as it has all the required information. If you are unable to attach the tag at the site where you killed the deer, you must attach it as soon as you reach an area where you can do so, like your home, hunting camp or vehicle. In this case, the completed tag must be in your possession while you move the game [source: New Jersey].
Your state might require the carcass to be kept in the county where it was killed until it has been taken to a game check station. It must be checked in within 24 hours of the kill, though some states have a 72-hour requirement. It is usually required that the person who made the kill also takes the game to the check station [source: West Virginia].
When transporting game birds, bear in mind that the head or a fully feathered wing must remain intact and attached to the bird. In South Dakota, pheasants and grouse must have a wing, head or foot attached. One thing to consider when transporting game birds is to not freeze more than two birds together in one package. Freezing numerous birds makes it very difficult for inspectors to identify the species and gender of each individual bird [source: GameBirdHunts].
Each state has laws detailing how the harvest can be moved, and how to do it while reducing the risk of spreading disease. Move on to the next section to learn more about this topic.