Top 10 Mountains to Climb


1
Mount Everest
Not many climbers summit Everest without a team of Sherpas, who live in the shadow of the great mountain and are genetically acclimated to the high altitude.
Alan Kearney/Getty Images

Rising approximately 29,035 feet above sea level, Mount Everest is the ultimate mountain to climb: It's the tallest mountain on the face of the Earth. Since Sir Edmund Hilary and Tenzing Norgay first conquered this peak in 1953, there have only been about 2,500 climbs to the summit. Located in the Himalayas of Nepal and China, Mount Everest is an extremely difficult mountaineering expedition. Climbers have to obtain a permit from the Nepalese or Chinese governments to attempt to climb Mount Everest.

If you don't want to attempt to reach the summit, you can take a trek to the base camp of Everest on the north or south side of the mountain. On the northern side of the mountain, you can visit a Buddhist monastery at the foot of the Rongbuk Glacier. Here, you can contemplate your view of the world's tallest peak.

Related Articles

Sources

  • "6 American Mountains to Climb for Big Adventure." Matador Trips. Jan. 12, 2009.http://matadortrips.com/6-american-mountains-to-climb-for-big-adventure/
  • Adventure Alternative. "Climb Mount Elbrus—Jewel of the Caucasus. (Dec. 27, 2011). http://www.adventurealternative.com/MtElbrus.asp
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online. "K2." (Dec. 27, 2011). http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/309107/K2
  • EverestNews.com. "Annapurna Expeditions and News Index." (Dec. 27, 2011). http://www.everestnews.com/annapurna.htm
  • International Mountain Adventure. "The Volcanoes of Mexico." (Dec. 27, 2011). http://expedition-logistics.com/MXVO.htm
  • K2.climbnet.com. "The Climb." (Jan. 4, 2012). http://www.k2climb.net/expguide/route.htm
  • Ke Adventure Travel. "Mount Khuiten." (Dec. 27, 2011). http://www.keadventure.com/trip/khu/mount-khuiten.html
  • "Kilimanjaro: an expert guide to climbing Mount Kilamanjo." Tanzania Odyssey.http://www.tanzaniaodyssey.com/mount-kilimanjaro/kilimanjaro.htm
  • "Matterhorn." Peakware.http://www.peakware.com/peaks.html?pk=1089
  • Lemonick, Michael. "Why are Kilimanjaro's Glaciers Fading." Time. Nov. 3, 2009. (Dec. 28, 2011). http://www.time.com/time/health/article/0,8599,1934203,00.html
  • Marbles, Ronald. "Top 8 Mountain Climbs." Bukisa. April 16, 2009.http://www.bukisa.com/articles/66652_top-8-best-mountain-climbs
  • Mexico Extreme. "Iztaccíhuatl (Ayoloco) 5,230m (17,159 ft)." Dec. 27, 2011).http://mexico-extreme.com/index.php?eng_show/mountain/12/
  • "Mount Everest." Peakware.http://www.peakware.com/peaks.html?pk=80
  • "Mount Everest News." Mount Everest by Climbers.http://www.mounteverest.net/story/MountEverestKillerMountainsAnExplorersWebSeriesOct292003.shtml
  • Mount Everest.net. "The Sherpas." (Dec. 28, 2011). http://www.mounteverest.net/expguide/sherpas.htm
  • "Mount Kilimanjaro." Peakware. http://www.peakware.com/peaks.html?pk=139
  • "Mount McKinley." Peakware.http://www.peakware.com/peaks.html?pk=174
  • National Park Service. "Denali." (Dec. 28, 2011). http://www.cr.nps.gov/history/online_books/dena/hrs2.htm
  • Nayak, Sankeyta. "Best Mountains to Climb in the World." EDU Book. January 15, 2009.http://www.edubook.com/best-mountains-to-climb-in-the-world/1941/
  • "Patagonia." Peakware.http://www.peakware.com/areas.html?a=383
  • "Patagonia Travel Information and Guide." Lonely Planet.http://www.lonelyplanet.com/argentina/patagonia
  • Regenold, Steven. "The Best Mountains to Climb Before You Die. Forbes Traveler. Nov. 29, 2006.http://www.forbestraveler.com/adventure/best-mountain-climbing-story.html
  • Regenold, Steven. "Best Mountains to Climb During Your Lifetime." MSNBC. Dec. 18, 2006.http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/16113203/
  • Summitpost.org. "Mount Elbrus." (Jan. 3, 2012). http://www.summitpost.org/mount-elbrus/150255
  • Unearthing Asia. "Annapurna Mountains. (Dec. 27, 2011). http://unearthingasia.com/mythical-himalayas/the-annapurna-mountains/
  • Visit Himalaya. "Himalaya – A dream for all Explorers." (Dec. 27, 2011). http://www.visit-himalaya.com/himalayas/annapurna.html
  • Weir, Bill. "Perfect Day on K2—and How it Turned Deadly." ABC News. Aug. 10, 2010. (Dec. 27, 2011). http://abcnews.go.com/Nightline/k2-deadliest-day/story?id=11358828
  • "What does Kilimanjaro look like?" Climbing Kilimanjaro.http://www.climbmountkilimanjaro.com/about-the-mountain/what-does-kilimanjaro-look-like/index.html

UP NEXT

Junko Tabei, the First Woman to Conquer Everest, Has Died

Junko Tabei, the First Woman to Conquer Everest, Has Died

Junko Tabei, the first woman to climb Everest, died at the age of 77. Learn more about Junko Tabei and Mt. Everest in this HowStuffWorks Now article.


More to Explore