The 10 Most Amazing Parties of All Time


1
Boston Tea Party
The Boston Tea Party wasn't a typical party by any stretch of the imagination, but it sure did shake things up. © PoodlesRock/Corbis

If you thought all tea parties were formal affairs involving dainty porcelain cups, lace napkins and fancy cakes, think again. The most famous tea party of all -- the Boston Tea Party -- involved nothing of the sort. It was 1773 in Colonial America. Following several years of increasingly rotten treatment by the British, American colonists had had enough. They were especially worked up over tea. On May 10, 1773, the British reduced the tax its East India Company paid for importing tea into Britain and allowed the company to export directly to the colonies for the first time, enabling the company to sell tea at a lower price than smugglers from other nations. At the same, the British government upheld a tax colonists had to pay on imported tea. Then, in September, the East India Company shipped 500,000 pounds of their tea to the colonists [sources: Boston Tea Party Historical Society, History].

With the tea en route, colonists clamored for it to be sent back without any tax payment. As it began arriving, some American ports refused to accept the shipments. But the shipment was accepted in Boston, and the royal governor insisted the taxes be paid. So on the night of Dec. 16, 116 men -- including Sam Adams and Paul Revere -- dressed as Mohawk Indians, boarded the three East India ships and chucked all 90,000 pounds of tea into the harbor. Then they fled [sources: Boston Tea Party Historical Society, History].

The three-hour raid destroyed an estimated £10,000 of tea, or about $1 million in today's money. While nothing changed for the colonists overnight, the Boston Tea Party was an important protest, and one of many events that led to the ultimate creation of the independent United States of America [sources: Boston Tea Party Historical Society, History].

Author's Note: The 10 Most Amazing Parties of All Time

The most impressive party I've ever attended was President Ronald Reagan's inaugural ball in 1984. Or, more accurately, the most important party, as the event wasn't that impressive -- certainly nothing like the ones in this article. I was eligible to attend the Youth Ball, one of several parties held after the inauguration ceremony. The decorations and food were minimal, and President and Mrs. Reagan stopped in for just a dance or two, quickly departing to spend the bulk of their time at the more important balls attended by the nation's movers and shakers. But hey, at least I can brag that I attended a presidential inaugural ball.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Basye, Ali. "It Was the Most Lavish Party of the 20th Century." On This Day In Fashion. June 24, 2010. (Dec. 27, 2012) http://onthisdayinfashion.com/?p=1710
  • Bost, Callie. "14 Of The Most Extravagant Birthday Parties." Business Insider. July 29, 2012. (Dec. 16, 2012) http://www.businessinsider.com/most-expensive-birthday-parties-2012-7?op=1
  • Boston Tea Party Historical Society. "What was the Boston Tea Party?" (Dec. 27, 2012). http://www.boston-tea-party.org/
  • Britannica. "Caroline Webster Schermerhorn Astor." Dec. 26, 2012. http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/39849/Caroline-Webster-Schermerhorn-Astor
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics. "CPI Inflation Calculator." Dec. 23, 2012. http://www.bls.gov/data/inflation_calculator.htm
  • Campoy-Leffler, Nicole. "10 Most Extraordinary Parties in History." The Daily Meal. Oct. 14, 2011. (Dec. 16, 2012) http://www.thedailymeal.com/10-most-extraordinary-parties-history
  • Ellis, Lisa. "Top Ten Most Expensive Parties Ever Thrown." What It Costs. (Dec. 16, 2012) http://topten.whatitcosts.com/top-ten-parties.htm
  • Galante, Meredith and Gus Lubin. "The Most Ostentatious Party In US History." Business Insider. Nov. 6, 2012. (Dec. 23, 2012) http://www.businessinsider.com/bradley-martin-ball-of-1897-2012-11
  • Hermitage Museum. "1903 Fancy Dress Ball in the Winter Palace." (Dec. 27, 2012) http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/html_En/04/b2003/hm4_1_004.html
  • History. "Boston Tea Party." (Dec. 27, 2012) http://www.history.com/topics/boston-tea-party
  • Jowitt, Deborah. "Russes Revolution." Dance Magazine. (Dec. 16, 2012) http://www.dancemagazine.com/issues/February-2009/Russes-Revolution
  • Just Luxe. "10 Most Extraordinary Parties in History." (Dec. 16, 2012) http://www.justluxe.com/inpictures/gallery.php?cid=1662712
  • Lynn, Matthew. "The Long, Long Depression." National Review. Jan. 2, 2012. (Dec. 23, 2012) http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/286877/long-long-depression-matthew-lynn#
  • Motilo. "News: The Best Parties in History." Dec. 6, 2012. (Dec. 16, 2012) http://magazine.motilo.com/the-best-parties-in-history/
  • PBS. "Truman Capote." July 28, 2006. (Dec. 23, 2012) http://www.pbs.org/wnet/americanmasters/episodes/truman-capote/introduction/58/
  • Richardson, John. "Expats in Wonderland." Vanity Fair. August 2007. (Dec. 27, 2012) http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/2007/08/picasso-200708
  • Schjeldahl, Peter. "Modern Love." The New Yorker. Aug. 6, 2007. (Dec. 27, 2012) http://www.newyorker.com/arts/critics/artworld/2007/08/06/070806craw_artworld_schjeldahl
  • Skarda, Erin. "The 10 Most Lavish Weddings Ever." Time NewsFeed. April 27, 2012. (Dec. 16, 2012) http://newsfeed.time.com/2012/04/27/the-10-most-lavish-weddings-ever/
  • The History Box. "Mrs. Astor's Annual Ball: Three Hundred Guests Attended 1-29-1900." (Dec. 16, 2012) http://thehistorybox.com/ny_city/society/printerfriendly/nycity_society_balls_dances_article00222.htm
  • The Independent. "The inside story of Truman Capote's Masked Ball." April 25, 2006. (Dec. 23, 2012) http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/the-inside-story-of-truman-capotes-masked-ball-475551.html
  • Victor Pinchuk Foundation. "About Victor Pinchuk." (Dec. 27, 2012) http://pinchukfund.org/en/about_pinchuk/biography/
  • Willsher, Kim. "French ski resort abuzz over $6.6-million birthday bash." Los Angeles Times. Dec. 18, 2010. (Dec. 27, 2012) http://articles.latimes.com/2010/dec/18/world/la-fg-billionaire-party-20101218
  • Woodstock. "The Woodstock Festivals." (Dec. 26, 2012) http://www.woodstock.com/themusic.php

UP NEXT

Why You Should Never Buy Airline Miles

Why You Should Never Buy Airline Miles

HowStuffWorks finds out the best ways to redeem airline miles and what to do if you don't have enough for your next trip.


More to Explore