10 Strange Buildings Where You Can Spend the Night


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

It's Muggle Madness at London's Platform 9 ¾

It's Muggle Madness at London's Platform 9 ¾

London's Platform 9 ¾ may not get you to Hogwarts, but it's still fun to take your picture there. HowStuffWorks takes you there.


Author's Note: 10 Strange Buildings Where You Can Spend the Night

I appreciate the amenities and comforts that many standard hotel chains have to offer. That said, I once had the opportunity to spend several nights in a small British castle, and I certainly remember much more about that experience than any other basic hotel stay.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Arnold, Helen. "15 Romantic European Castle Hotels." CNN. Sept. 19, 2011 (June 18, 2015) http://www.cnn.com/2011/09/16/travel/romantic-castles/
  • Doyle, Rachel B. "Three Years Ago, This Posh Hotel Was a Notorious Strip Club." Curbed. Nov. 24, 2014 (June 17, 2015) http://curbed.com/archives/2014/11/24/the-dean-hotel-before-and-after.php
  • Grundhauser, Eric. "Hotel Casanus." 2015 (June 17, 2015) http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/hotel-casanus
  • Hotel Arena. "Hotel Arena." 2015 (June 18, 2015) http://www.hotelarena.nl/en
  • Liberty Hotel. "Boston Hotel." 2015 (June 17, 2015) http://www.libertyhotel.com/index.html
  • Lighthouse Restorations. "Execution Rocks Lighthouse." 2015 (June 17, 2015) http://lighthouserestorations.org/Home.php
  • McCulloch, Adam. "Seaventures Rig Resort, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia." Travel and Leisure. March 30, 2012 (June 17, 2015) http://www.travelandleisure.com/slideshows/worlds-most-unusual-hotels/15
  • McMenamins. "Kennedy School." 2015 (June 18, 2015) http://www.mcmenamins.com/427-kennedy-school-home
  • Parador. "Parador de Santo Estevo." 2015 (June 18, 2015) http://www.parador.es/en/paradores/parador-de-santo-estevo
  • Roadtrippers. "Execution Rocks Lighthouse." 2015 (June 17, 2015) https://roadtrippers.com/us/sands-point-ny/points-of-interest/execution-rocks-lighthouse?lat=40.80972&lng=-96.67528&z=5
  • Ruthin Castle. "Ruthin Castle – A Short History." 2015 (June 18, 2015) http://www.ruthincastle.co.uk/history/
  • Savoia, Stephen. "Boston jail transforms into luxury hotel with restaurant called 'Clink.'" USA Today. Nov. 8, 2007 (June 17, 2015) http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/travel/destinations/2007-11-08-boston-jail-hotel_N.htm
  • Seaventures Dive. "About the Rig." 2015 (June 17, 2015) http://seaventuresdive.com/about-seaventures-dive-rig/
  • Syz, Francesca. "Hotels in former monasteries: four of the best." Travel. 2015 (June 18, 2015) http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/hotels/6016523/Four-of-the-best-hotels-in-former-monasteries.html
  • The Dean Hotel. "The Dean Hotel." 2015 (June 17, 2015) https://thedeanhotel.com/
  • United States Coast Guard. "Execution Rocks Lighthouse." 2015 (June 17, 2015) http://www.uscg.mil/d1/antNewYork/lighthouses/ExecutionRocks.asp
  • Unusual Hotels of the World. "About Casanus." 2015 (June 17, 2015) http://www.unusualhotelsoftheworld.com/casanus
  • Villisca Ax Murder House. "The Official Website for the Villisca Ax Murder House." 2015 (June 16, 2015) http://www.villiscaiowa.com/index.php
  • World Wildlife. "Coral Triangle." 2015 (June 17, 2015) https://www.worldwildlife.org/places/coral-triangle

More to Explore