Prev Next  

Advertisement

10 Challenging Adventure Trips for Climbers

Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Lapland Is the Land of Eight Seasons

Lapland Is the Land of Eight Seasons

HowStuffWorks looks at the eight seasons the Sámi people of Lapland use to structure their year.


Related Articles

Sources

  • Adventure Peaks. Tien Shan Peaks. (June 22, 2012) http://www.adventurepeaks.com/expeditions/tien_shan_peaks.htm
  • Anchorage Daily News. Things to Do. Alaska.com. (June 22, 2012) http://www.alaska.com/activities/
  • Anchorage Daily News. Matanuska Glacier. (June 22, 2012) http://www.alaska.com/2008/10/16/2031/matanuska-glacier.html
  • Alpine Ascents. Volcanoes of Mexico. (June 22, 2012) http://www.alpineascents.com/mexico.asp
  • Backpacker. Climbing Mexico's Iztaccíhuatl. (June 22, 2012) http://www.backpacker.com/may_2002_destinations_mexico_iztaccihuatl/destinations/4392
  • Bedouin Guides. Wadi Rum Jordan. (June 22, 2012). http://www.bedouinguides.com/
  • Bible History daily. Jordan's Wadi Rum Named a World Heritage Site. (June 22, 2012) http://www.biblicalarchaeology.org/daily/news/jordan's-wadi-rum-named-world-heritage-site/
  • Central Asia Travel. Khan-Tengry Peak. (June 22, 2012) http://www.centralasia-travel.com/en/expeditions/khan-tengry/
  • Central Asian Travel Company. Khan Tengri Mountain. OrexCA.com. (June 22, 2012) http://www.kazakhstan.orexca.com/khan_tengri_mountain_kazakhstan.shtml
  • Encyclopedia Britannica. Mount McKinley. (June 22, 2012) http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/354958/Mount-McKinley
  • Encyclopedia Britannica. Mount Olympus. (June 22, 2012) http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/428145/Mount-Olympus
  • Encyclopedia Britannica. Height of Mount Everest. (June 22, 2012) http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2003/mar/30/everest.features3
  • Greece Travel. Climbing Mount Olympus. (June 22, 2012) http://www.greecetravel.com/trekking/mount-olympus/index.htm
  • Guardian news. How to Climb Everest. (June 22, 2012) http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2003/mar/30/everest.features3
  • Kan Tengri LTD. Kan Tengri. (June 22, 2012) http://www.kantengri.kz/index1.html
  • Himalayan Rescue Association. (June 28, 2012). http://www.everester.org/BlogViewer.aspx?Id=80D71EC8F2C32941
  • Matanuska Glacier. Welcome to the Matanuska Glacier. (June 22, 2012) http://www.matanuska-glacier.com/
  • MexOnline. Legends of Popocatepetl and Iztaccíhuatl. (June 22, 2012) http://www.mexonline.com/history-popo.htm
  • Mount Kilimanjaro Guide. Mount Kilimanjaro Facts. (June 22, 2012).
  • http://www.mountkilimanjaroguide.com/kilimanjaro-facts.html
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Popocatepetl and Iztaccíhuatl Volcanoes, Mexico. (June 22, 2012) http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/IOTD/view.php?id=5369
  • National Geographic. Climb Mount McKinley, Alaska: Best American Adventures. (June 22, 2012) http://adventure.nationalgeographic.com/adventure/trips/americas-best-adventures/climb-mount-mckinley/
  • National Geographic. Adventurers of the Year. (June 22, 2012) http://adventure.nationalgeographic.com/adventure/adventurers-of-the-year/2012/sanobabu-sunuwar-lakpa-tsheri-sherpa/
  • Offices de Tourisme de Chamonix. Chamonix Valley. (June 22, 2012) http://www.chamonix.com/chamonix-valley,1,en.html
  • Oregon State. Iztaccíhuatl, Mexico. (June 22, 2012) http://volcano.oregonstate.edu/vwdocs/volc_images/north_america/mexico/itza.html
  • PeakWare. Khan Tengri. (June 22, 2012) http://www.peakware.com/peaks.html?pk=137
  • Science Daily. Why Climbers Die on Mount Everest. (June 22, 2012) http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2008/12/081209221709.htm
  • REI. Ice Climbing – Waterfalls and Alpine Walls. (June 22, 2012) http://www.rei.com/expertadvice/articles/ice+climbing+waterfalls+alpine+walls.html
  • REI Adventures. Mt. Shasta Climb. (June 22, 2012) http://www.rei.com/adventures/trips/weekend/ca_mtshasta_wend.html
  • Shasta Guides. Climbs. (June 22, 2012). http://shastaguides.com/climbs/
  • Shasta Home. Deadfall Lakes. (June 22, 2012) http://www.shastahome.com/Summer-Activities/Deadfall-Lakes.html
  • Scholastic. My Story: Sir Edmund Hilary. (June 22, 2012) http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/hillary/archive/evefacts.htm
  • Summit Post. Mont Blanc. (June 22, 2012) http://www.summitpost.org/mont-blanc/150245
  • Summit Post. Iztaccíhuatl Adventure. (June 22, 2012) http://www.summitpost.org/iztacc-huatl-adventure/270675
  • Summit Post. Mount Shasta. (June 22, 2012) http://www.summitpost.org/mount-shasta/150188
  • Summit Post. Khan Tengri. (June 22, 2012) http://www.summitpost.org/khan-tengri/150339
  • Tanzania Adventure. Serengeti National Park Safari Tanzania. (June 22, 2012) http://www.tanzania-adventure.com/serengeti_tanzania.htm
  • Tanzania Parks. Mount Kilimanjaro National Park. (June 22, 2012) http://www.tanzaniaparks.com/kili.html
  • Thompson, David. Pauline Frommer's Alaska. 2008. (June 22, 2012) http://books.google.com/books?id=02vPnH0UbNAC&pg=PA74&lpg=PA74&dq=%22weather+hole%22+matanuska+glacier&source=bl&ots=xeNrQWQoCj&sig=mY7Fl08myquIKwJi2oj11UFgVB4&hl=en&sa=X&ei=GujmT4vGEMuH0QGbtYmNCg&ved=0CF4Q6AEwCQ#v=onepage&q&f=false
  • Ultimate Kilimanjaro. How Many Days are Needed to Climb Kilimanjaro? (June 22, 2012) http://www.ultimatekilimanjaro.com/days.htm
  • U.S. Geological Survey. Mount Shasta and Vicinity, California. (June 22, 2012) http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Volcanoes/Shasta/description_shasta.html
  • Wadi Rum. Wadi Rum. (June 2, 2012) http://www.wadirum.org/

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement


Advertisement


Recommended

Advertisement

Advertisement