How to Tie the Impossible Knot


Lots More Information

Author's Note: How to Tie the Impossible Knot

I've never been good with knots. Actually, the only one I know how to reliably tie is the good old bunny ears. But I'd like to take a stab at the double fisherman's. I just need to find two things I can tie together that can remain tied for eternity!

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • A Site About Nothing. "Andy's Most Useful Knots." (May 11, 2015) http://www.asiteaboutnothing.net/cr_most-useful-knots.html
  • Animated Knots By Grog. "Constrictor Knot (Twisting Method)." Nov. 24, 2014. (May 11, 2015) http://www.animatedknots.com/constrictor/
  • Bisharat, Andrew. "The Seven Need-To-Know Climbing Knots." Backcountry. May 6, 2015. (May 11, 2015) http://www.backcountry.com/explore/the-seven-need-to-know-climbing-knots
  • Boy Scouts of America. "Canoeing." (May 13, 2015) http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/BoyScouts/AdvancementandAwards/MeritBadges/mb-CANO.aspx
  • Boy Scout Trail. "Scout Requirements Study Guide." (May 13, 2015) http://www.boyscouttrail.com/webelos/boyscoutreqsaid.asp
  • Boy Scouts of America. "First Class Rank Requirements." (May 13, 2015) http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/BoyScouts/AdvancementandAwards/firstclass.aspx
  • Boy Scouts of America. "Pioneering." (May 13, 2015) http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/BoyScouts/AdvancementandAwards/MeritBadges/mb-PION.aspx
  • Boy Scouts of America. "Rowing." (May 13, 2015) http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/BoyScouts/AdvancementandAwards/MeritBadges/mb-ROWG.aspx
  • Climbing Knots. "How to untie a Figure eight Loop." (May 14, 2015) http://www.climbing-knots.com/how-to-untie-a-figure-eight-loop.html
  • De Decker, Kris. "Lost knowledge: ropes and knots." Low-Tech Magazine. (May 11, 2015) http://www.lowtechmagazine.com/2010/06/lost-knowledge-ropes-and-knots.html
  • Geffre, John. "The Six Boy Scout Knots." Merit Badge. Aug. 20, 2001. (May 12, 2015) https://meritbadge.org/wiki/images/5/5d/Six-Boy-Scout-Knots.pdf
  • History. "Boy Scouts movement begins." (May 20, 2015) http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/boy-scouts-movement-begins
  • Indoor Climbing. "Tie the Fisherman's Knot." (May 17, 2015) http://www.indoorclimbing.com/Fishermans_Knot.html
  • Knots 3D. "Constrictor Knot." (May 11, 2015) http://knots3d.com/binding/constrictor-knot/
  • NetKnots. "Constrictor Knot." (May 11, 2015) http://www.netknots.com/rope_knots/constrictor-knot/
  • NetKnots. "Double Fisherman's." (May 11, 2015) http://www.netknots.com/rope_knots/double-fishermans/
  • RopeBook. "Knot History." (May 11, 2015) http://www.ropebook.com/information/knots/history
  • The Telegraph. "Modern scout leaders 'don't need to know how to tie knots.'" Nov. 2, 2014. (May 20, 2015) http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/11203889/Modern-scout-leaders-dont-need-to-know-how-to-tie-knots.html
  • Titan Paracord. "Constrictor Knot." Oct. 1, 2014. (May 11, 2015) http://titanparacord.com/constrictor-knot/
  • YouTube. "The Impossible Knot." Sept. 1, 2009. (May 11, 2015) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiwZvnU_6KQ