10 Things You Should Never Eat in the Wild


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

10 Mysterious Disappearances in National Parks

10 Mysterious Disappearances in National Parks

Disappearances in National Parks have included hikers, backpackers and children. See 10 mysterious disappearances in National Parks to learn more.


Author's Note: 10 Things You Should Never Eat in the Wild

I researched this piece while on a long-distance hike. I saw a lot of mushrooms in the woods, plus various plants and animals, but made sure to eat only prepackaged snacks.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Aleccia, Jonel. "Eat lionfish? Sure, but beware of the nasty toxins." NBC News. June 27, 2012. (Sept. 5, 2015) http://www.nbcnews.com/health/eat-lionfish-sure-beware-nasty-toxins-848510
  • Backpacker. "Eat Poison Ivy: Build Immunity?" Sept. 3, 2015. http://www.backpacker.com/gear/experts/ask-buck/eat-poison-ivy-build-immunity/
  • Encyclopaedia Brittanica. "Poison Hemlock." (Sept. 11, 2015) http://www.britannica.com/plant/poison-hemlock
  • Hoyum, Kim. "Rhododendron Toxicity." Garden Guides. (Sept. 10, 2015) http://www.gardenguides.com/89852-rhododendron-toxicity.html
  • Lloyd, Robin. "The 10 Most Common Poisonous Plants." Live Science. May 17, 2007. (Sept. 5, 2015) http://www.livescience.com/11356-top-10-poisonous-plants.html
  • MacWelch, Tim. "11 Toxic Wild Plants That Look Like Food." Outdoor Life. (Sept. 3, 2015) http://www.outdoorlife.com/photos/gallery/2014/09/11-toxic-wild-plants-look-food
  • Oder, Tom. "Wild mushrooms: What to eat, what to avoid." Mother Nature Network. Oct. 30, 2013. (Sept. 3, 2015) http://www.mnn.com/your-home/organic-farming-gardening/stories/wild-mushrooms-what-to-eat-what-to-avoid
  • Osborne, Hannah. "Ebola Outbreak: Why do People Eat Bat Meat?" International Business Times. Oct. 9, 2014. (Sept. 5, 2015) http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/ebola-outbreak-why-do-people-eat-bat-meat-1469295
  • Pickrell, John. "Bat-Eating Linked to Neurological Illness." National Geographic. June 13, 2003. (Sept. 10, 2015) http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/06/0613_030613_bateaters.html
  • The Flower Expert. "Rhododendron." (Sept. 10, 2015) http://www.theflowerexpert.com/content/mostpopularflowers/morepopularflowers/rhododendron
  • WebMD. "Holly Side Effects & Safety." (Sept. 3, 2015) http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/ingredientmono-511-holly.aspx?activeingredientid=511&activeingredientname=holly
  • WebMD. "Poison Ivy." (Sept. 9, 2015) http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/ingredientmono-468-poison%20ivy.aspx?activeingredientid=468&activeingredientname=poison%20ivy
  • WebMD. "Slideshow: Poison Plants: Myths and Facts." (Sept. 9, 2015) http://www.webmd.com/allergies/ss/slideshow-poison-plants
  • Weed Science Society of America. "Poison hemlock, hemlock." Jan. 6, 2012. (Sept. 5, 2015) http://wssa.net/2012/01/poison-hemlock-hemlock/
  • World Health Organization (WHO). "Water Sanitation Health." (Sept. 5, 2015) http://www.who.int/water_sanitation_health/hygiene/envsan/emergencies_qa10/en/