5 Luxury Services That Cost Nothing in the Wild


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Can living off the land benefit your health?

Can living off the land benefit your health?

The lower stress and serenity of an off-the-grid life are often touted. Find out about the possible health benefits of living off the land.


Author's Note: 5 Luxury Services That Cost Nothing in the Wild

While I love spa services, soaking in natural hot springs or letting a roaring waterfall pound away the knots in my shoulders sounds much more appealing. And I'll swap a trail run for a treadmill session any day.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Averill, Graham. "Natural Fitness: Wild Workouts With The World's Fittest Man." Blue Ridge Outdoors Magazine. June 2009. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.blueridgeoutdoors.com/magazine/june-2009/natural-fitness-wild-workouts-with-the-world%E2%80%99s-fittest-man/
  • Borreli, Lizette. "Four Safe Tanning Tips For A Healthy Summer Glow." Medical Daily. June 3, 2013. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.medicaldaily.com/four-safe-tanning-tips-healthy-summer-glow-246439
  • Coldwell, Will. "Free hot springs around the world." The Guardian. Jan. 7, 2014. (Sept. 2, 2014) http://www.theguardian.com/travel/2014/jan/07/free-hot-springs-around-the-world-spas
  • Farley, David. "Wild Spas: The Divine Therapy." The New York Times. Aug. 26, 2007. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/2007/08/26/travel/26journeys.html?_r=0
  • Fox News. "13 beautiful natural swimming holes around the U.S." June 12, 2013. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.foxnews.com/travel/2013/06/11/13-beautiful-natural-swimming-holes-around-us/
  • Harvard Health Publications. "Spending time outdoors is good for you, from the Harvard Health Letter." July 2010. (Sept. 2, 2014) http://www.health.harvard.edu/press_releases/spending-time-outdoors-is-good-for-you
  • Heffernan, Andrew. "Wild Workouts." Experience Life. November 2010. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://experiencelife.com/article/wild-workouts/
  • Magnúsdóttir, Perla. "Free hot springs around Iceland - Exotic bathing." Extreme Iceland. Feb. 25, 2014. (Aug. 29, 2014) https://www.extremeiceland.is/en/information/news-and-blog/item/1106-free-hot-springs-around-iceland-exotic-bathing
  • Moses, Kara. "Top 10 ... foods to forage." The Ecologist. March 18, 2011. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.theecologist.org/green_green_living/food_and_drink/815671/top_10_foods_to_forage.html
  • My Tanning Tips. "Outdoor Tanning Tips." (Aug. 29, 2014) http://mytanningtips.com/outdoor-tanning-tips
  • New England Waterfalls. "Best Swimming Holes in New England." (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.newenglandwaterfalls.com/swimmingholes.php
  • New England Waterfalls. "Enders Falls." (Sept. 3, 2014) http://www.newenglandwaterfalls.com/waterfall.php?name=Enders%20Falls
  • Phillips, Roger. "Top 10 wild foods to forage in spring." The Telegraph. April 23, 2014. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/foodanddrinkadvice/10770790/Top-10-wild-foods-to-forage-in-spring.html
  • Stephens, Betsy. "The 30-Minute Outdoor Workout (Even Indoor Girls Will Love!)." Fitness. (Aug. 29, 2014) http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/workout/lose-weight/total-body/outdoor-workouts-30-minutes/
  • Theroux, Marcel. "Spring break at Iceland's newest spa." The Guardian. Oct. 28, 2011. (Sept. 2, 2014) http://www.theguardian.com/travel/2011/oct/28/spa-iceland-lake-laugarvatn
  • Vivian, John. "Foraging for Edible Wild Plants: A Field Guide to Wild Berries." Mother Earth News. October/November 1999. (Sept. 2, 2014) http://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/edible-wild-plants.aspx#axzz3CCZex3GT
  • World Health Organization. "World Health Statistics 2014." May 15, 2014. (Sept. 4, 2014) http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/releases/2014/world-health-statistics-2014/en/