Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

10 Spectacular Places to Camp in the Winter


Author's Note: 10 Spectacular Places to Camp in the Winter

I'm not really a camper, although I've camped before. And while I enjoy a snowy winter, it's generally from atop two cross-country skis, not from within a tent. But I did rough it once in an igloo created in the courtyard of Quebec's Ice Hotel (at least for a few hours), giving me a little street cred for this article.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Adirondack. "Winter Camping In The Adirondacks." (June 26, 2012) http://www.adirondack.net/winter/camping.cfm
  • AllTrips: Mount Hood Oregon. "Mt Hood Wilderness." (July 2, 2012) http://www.allmounthood.com/nature/mt_hood_wilderness.php
  • Antarctica Bound. "Camping In Antarctica." (June 26, 2012) http://www.antarcticabound.com/camping-antarctica.asp
  • Bureau of Land Management. "Red Cliffs Campground." (July 2, 2012) http://www.blm.gov/ut/st/en/fo/st__george/recreation/camping/red_cliffs_campground.html
  • Bureau of Land Management. "Red Cliffs National Conservation Area." (July 2, 2012) http://www.blm.gov/ut/st/en/fo/st__george/blm_special_areas/national_landscape/national_conservation/red_cliffs_national.html
  • Bureau of Land Management. "Red Cliffs Recreation Area." (July 2, 2012) http://www.blm.gov/ut/st/en/fo/st__george/recreation/day_use_areas/red_cliffs_recreation.html
  • Campsite Photos. "10 Great Winter Campsites for the Winter Camper." (June 26, 2012) http://www.campsitephotos.com/article/10-great-winter-campsites-for-the-winter-camper-
  • Carr, Tess and Kat Heyes. "Top cold-weather campsites, and softer options for unashamed wimps." The Guardian. Nov. 10, 2007. (June 26, 2012) http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2007/nov/11/escape.camping
  • Chang, Myrtha. "Best Winter Campgrounds -- Florida." Joy of Camping. (June 26, 2012) http://www.joyofcamping.com/campground-reviews/state-parks/best-winter-campgrounds-florida/
  • Erb, Christina. "Winter camping newbie? Here are five beautiful back-country spots." Outside. Oct. 11, 2007. (June 26, 2012) http://www.outsideonline.com/adventure-travel/north-america/united-states/national-parks/Camping.html
  • Great Oregon Vacations. "Camping in Mt Hood National Forest." (July 2, 2012) http://www.great-oregon-vacations.com/camping-in-mt-hood-national-forest.html
  • Hadrian's Wall Camping. "Welcome to Hadrian's Wall Camping." (June 26, 2012) http://www.hadrianswallcampsite.co.uk/
  • Hôtel de Glace. "Welcome to the official Website of the Hôtel de Glace!" (June 26, 2012) http://www.hoteldeglace-canada.com/
  • Ice Hotel. "How to sleep well in minus degrees." (June 26, 2012) http://www.icehotel.com/uk/ICEHOTEL/Stay-at-ICEHOTEL/How-to-sleep-well-in-minus-5-degrees/
  • Irons, Geoff. "How to Go Winter Camping and Backpacking." REI. October 2009. (June 26, 2012) http://www.rei.com/expertadvice/articles/winter+camping.html
  • Kensington Tours. "Antarctica & Emperor Penguins." (June 28, 2012) http://www.kensingtontours.com/tours/antarctica-and-arctic/antarctica/antarctica-and-emperor-penguins
  • NASA. "What is Antarctica?" (June 28, 2012) http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forstudents/k-4/stories/what-is-antarctica-k4.html
  • National Park Service. "Camping on Padre Island." (June 26, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/pais/planyourvisit/camp.htm
  • National Park Service. "Great Sand Dunes." (July 2, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/grsa/index.htm
  • National Park Service. "Great Sand Dunes: Plan Your Visit." (July 2, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/grsa/planyourvisit/index.htm
  • National Park Service. "Padre Island: Bird Island Basin." (June 26, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/pais/planyourvisit/bird_island_basin.htm
  • National Park Service. "Padre Island: History & Culture." (June 26, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/pais/historyculture/index.htm
  • National Park Service. "Padre Island: Nature & Science." (June 26, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/pais/naturescience/index.htm
  • National Park Service. "Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore." (July 2, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/piro/index.htm
  • National Park Service. "Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore: Winter Activities." (June 26, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/piro/planyourvisit/winteractivities.htm
  • National Park Service. "Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore: Winter Camping." (June 26, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/piro/planyourvisit/wintercamping.htm
  • National Park Service. "Yosemite." (July 2, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/yose
  • National Park Service. "Yosemite: Visiting in Winter." (July 2, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/yose/planyourvisit/winter.htm
  • Parks Victoria. "Murray-Sunset National Park." (June 26, 2012) http://parkweb.vic.gov.au/explore/parks/murray-sunset-national-park
  • Rappold, R. Scott. "OUT THERE: Who says Colorado camping is just for summer?" The Gazette. Dec. 30, 2009. (June 26, 2012) http://www.gazette.com/articles/table-91547-tbody-summer.html
  • Roman Wall Lodges. "Welcome to a 21st Century Lodge and Camping Site." (June 28, 2012) http://www.hadrians-wall-accommodation.co.uk/index.php
  • Seeking Greener. "Camping Antarctica." Sept. 7, 2010. (June 26, 2012) http://www.seekinggreener.com/camping/kensington-antarctica-adventures/
  • Triple Blaze. "The Best Campgrounds in the United States." (June 26, 2012) http://www.tripleblaze.com/best/?s=2
  • USDA Forest Service. "Welcome to Mt. Hood National Forest." (July 2, 2012) http://www.fs.usda.gov/mthood/
  • USDA Forest Service. "Welcome to Mt. Hood National Forest: About the Forest." (July 2, 2012) http://www.fs.usda.gov/main/mthood/about-forest
  • Visit Northumberland. "Hadrian's Wall." (June 28, 2012) http://www.visitnorthumberland.com/hadrians-wall
  • Winter Campers. "Winter Camping Symposium." (June 26, 2012) http://www.wintercampers.com/2009/09/12/winter-camping-symposium/

More to Explore