Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

A Guide to Hiking the Bitterroot Mountains


Author's Note

I felt a slight bit of intimidation when I received the assignment to write about hiking in the Bitterroot Mountains. After all, the Bitterroots are for real hiking, not the meandering nature strolls I take with my young children. But midway through the article I remembered that these geologic creations are amazing natural wonders that should be appreciated by all, not just the most adventurous among us. So whether you're into hiking in extreme environments, or prefer a less ambitious approach, you'll love the Bitterroot Mountains.

Related Articles

Sources:

  • Bitterroot National Forest. Supervisor's Office. Personal communication. (May 15, 2012)
  • Discover Montana. "Hiking in the Bitterroot Valley of Western Montana." (May 10, 2012) http://www.discovermontana.net/hiking.htm
  • Explore the Bitterroot. "Bitterroot Valley." (May 10, 2012) http://explorethebitterroot.com/bitterroot-valley
  • Explore the Bitterroot. "Bitterroot Valley." (May 15, 2012) http://explorethebitterroot.com/selway-bitterroot-wilderness
  • Gorp. "Frank Church-River of No Return Wilderness." (May 10, 2012) http://www.gorp.com/parks-guide/travel-ta-boise-national-forest-frank-church-river-of-no-return-wilderness-area-idaho-sidwcmdev_069183.html
  • Forest Camping. "Campground Guide." (May 10, 2012) http://www.forestcamping.com/dow/intro/introduc.htm#description
  • Forest Camping. "Forest Information." (May 10, 2012) http://www.forestcamping.com/dow/northern/bitrinfo.htm
  • Hit the Trail. "Water Purification." (May 10, 2012) http://www.hitthetrail.com/water-purification
  • Idaho Parks and Recreation. "Idaho Wilderness." (May 10, 2012) http://parksarchive.dcclients.com/recreation/idahowilderness.aspx
  • Montana.gov. "Montana's Tallest Peaks by Mountain Range." (May 10, 2012) http://nris.mt.gov/montanafacts/tallpeaks.asp
  • Mussulman, Joseph. "River of No Return." Discover Lewis and Clark. http://lewis-clark.org/content/content-article.asp?ArticleID=1790
  • National Geographic. "Deadly Crossing: The Bitterroots." (May 10, 2012) http://www.nationalgeographic.com/lewisandclark/journey_leg_12_11.html
  • Selway-Bitterroot Frank Church Foundation. "Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness." (May 10, 2012)
  • Summit Post. "Bitterroot Mountains: Climbing, Hiking & Mountaineering." (May 10, 2012) http://www.summitpost.org/bitterroot-mountains/170887
  • U.S. Forest Service. "Hiking." (May 10, 2012) http://www.fs.usda.gov/activity/bitterroot/recreation/hiking
  • U.S. Forest Service. "Welcome to the Bitterroot National Forest." (May 10, 2012) http://www.selwaybitterroot.org/selway-bitterroot-wilderness/
  • U.S. Forest Service. "Magruder Road Corridor." (May 10, 2012) http://www.fs.usda.gov/wps/portal/fsinternet/!ut/p/c5/04_SB8K8xLLM9MSSzPy8xBz9CP0os3gDfxMDT8MwRydLA1cj72BTJw8jAwgAykeaxcN4jhYG_h4eYX5hPgYwefy6w0H24dcPNgEHcDTQ9_PIz03VL8iNMMgycVQEAHcGOlk!/dl3/d3/L2dJQSEvUUt3QS9ZQnZ3LzZfME80MEkxVkFCOTBFMktTNUJIMjAwMDAwMDA!/?ss=110117&navtype=BROWSEBYSUBJECT&cid=FSE_003741&navid=110000000000000&pnavid=null&position=BROWSEBYSUBJECT&recid=16482&ttype=recarea&name=Magruder%20Road%20Corridor&pname=Nez%20Perce%20National%20Forest%20-%20Magruder%20Road%20Corridor
  • Visit Idaho. "Bitterroot National Forest." (May 10, 2012) http://www.visitidaho.org/attraction/natural-attractions/bitterroot-national-forest/
  • U.S. Forest Service. "Special Places." (May 10, 2012) http://www.fs.usda.gov/attmain/bitterroot/specialplaces
  • U.S. Forest Service. Outdoor Safety and Ethics." (May 10, 2012) http://www.fs.usda.gov/main/bitterroot/learning/safety-ethics
  • Wild Rockies Alliance. "Montana Portion of NREPA." (May 10, 2012) http://www.wildrockiesalliance.org/assets/statewideMT/bitterroot.shtml
  • Wilderness. "Anaconda-Pintler Wilderness." (May 10, 2012) http://www.wilderness.net/index.cfm?fuse=NWPS&sec=wildView&WID=10
  • Wilderness. "Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness." (May 10, 2012) http://www.wilderness.net/index.cfm?fuse=NWPS&sec=wildView&WID=540

More to Explore