Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

10 Surprising Things People Lose on Roller Coasters


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

The Many Haunted Mansions of Disney Theme Parks

The Many Haunted Mansions of Disney Theme Parks

Each park around the world has a slightly different take on Disneyland's iconic Haunted Mansion. HowStuffWorks Now visits each one.


Author's Note: 10 Surprising Things People Lose on Roller Coasters

There's a ride at our local amusement park — the amazing and historic Kennywood — called the Aero 360. I'm a huge roller coaster fan, but this "thrill ride" seems exclusively designed to part riders with their earthly possessions. The ride starts by swinging in increasingly higher arcs until you complete three or four full loops. But when it comes time to change direction, the ride holds you upside down for a full 10 seconds. While you and your family scream in terror, the entire contents of your pockets — cell phones, change, car keys — fall 100 feet to a black net below. Next time I'll check it for glass eyes.

Related Articles

Sources

  • American College of Prosthodontists. "Facts & Figures" (June 26, 2015) http://www.gotoapro.org/news/facts--figures/
  • Associated Press. "Teen decapitated at Six Flags Over Georgia." June 28, 2008 (June 26, 2015) http://www.nbcnews.com/id/25431893/ns/us_news-life/t/teen-decapitated-six-flags-over-georgia/#.VYxYGhNVikp
  • BBC News. "Fair unearths 'Dietrich earring.'" Jan. 10, 2007 (June 26, 2015) http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/6248143.stm
  • Berkowitz, Bonnie and Stanton, Laura. "Roller coasters: Feeling loopy." The Washington Post. July 1, 2013 (June 26, 2015) http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/special/health/why-roller-coasters-make-us-scream/index.html
  • Black, Lisa. "The Six Flags lost and found." The Chicago Tribune. May 10, 2012 (June 26, 2015) http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2012-05-10/news/ct-met-six-flags-ride-sidebar-20120510_1_cellphones-coaster-flags-officials
  • Blackpool Pleasure Beach. "Pleasure Beach History" (June 26, 2015) https://www.blackpoolpleasurebeach.com/schools/pleasure-beach-history/
  • CBS News. "Disney World patron found loaded gun on ride." May 30, 2013 (June 26, 2015) http://www.cbsnews.com/news/disney-world-patron-found-loaded-gun-on-ride/
  • Erickson Labs Northwest. "How to Handle Your Artificial Eyes" (June 26, 2015) http://www.ericksonlabs.com/v/Artificial_Eyes/care_handling.asp
  • Ferrari World. "Formula Rossa" (June 26, 2015) https://www.ferrariworldabudhabi.com/en-gb/attractions/formula-rossa.aspx
  • Gilbert, Susan. "When Brain Trauma is at the Other End of the Thrill Ride." The New York Times. June 25, 2002 (June 26, 2015) http://www.nytimes.com/2002/06/25/health/when-brain-trauma-is-at-the-other-end-of-the-thrill-ride.html
  • Harness, Jill. "27 Awesomely Stages Roller Coaster Photos." Mental Floss. May 16, 2014 (June 26, 2015) http://mentalfloss.com/article/56224/27-awesomely-staged-roller-coaster-photos
  • Holtzclaw, Mike. "Remembering the day Fabio got goosed at Busch Gardens." Daily Press. Aug. 14, 2014 (June 26, 2015) http://www.dailypress.com/entertainment/blog/dp-popcorn-fabio-goose-0814-story.html
  • Lait, Matt. "A Cache of Lost Finds." Los Angeles Times. Nov. 15 1992 (June 26, 2015) http://articles.latimes.com/1992-11-15/local/me-1074_1_lost-items
  • NBC10.com. "Off-Duty Officer's Gun Found by Teen" (June 26, 2015) http://www.southjersey.com/articles/?articleID=17101
  • Nightzel. "I proposed to my girlfriend on a roller coaster yesterday. She said yes!" Reddit (June 26, 2015) http://www.reddit.com/r/pics/comments/1iszbq/i_proposed_to_my_girlfriend_on_a_roller_coaster/
  • Steinberg, Stephanie. "The art of eye making." CNN. July 21, 2011 (June 26, 2015) http://www.cnn.com/2011/LIVING/07/21/eye.making.art/
  • Walt Disney World. "Lost and Found" (June 26, 2015) https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/guest-services/lost-and-found/
  • Wang, Betty. "Are guns allowed at amusement parks?" Findlaw. June 6, 2013 (June 26, 2015) http://blogs.findlaw.com/law_and_life/2013/06/are-guns-allowed-at-amusement-parks.html

More to Explore