Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

10 Weirdest Museums You Really Should Visit


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Ridiculous History: Famous Museum Diorama Includes Human Remains

Ridiculous History: Famous Museum Diorama Includes Human Remains

Carnegie museum curators never knew there was a human skull featured in a museum diorama. HowStuffWorks Now explains how they found out.


Author's Note: 10 Weirdest Museums You Really Should Visit

To say I appreciate museums is an understatement. I've planned vacations around museum locations, made itineraries based on museum hours and, once, I lingered so long in London's National Gallery I thought I might be locked in overnight (not a bad thing, really). I'm also a big fan of the odd, which made learning more about the world's 10 weirdest museums all the more interesting. It's difficult to select a favorite on this list, but the Toilet Seat Museum ranks near the top -- for the authenticity of its owner and the sincerity of his work.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Falkowitz, Max. "What's the Difference Between Gelato and Ice Cream?" July 31, 2012. (Jan. 3, 2014) Serious Eats. http://sweets.seriouseats.com/2012/07/whats-the-difference-between-gelato-and-ice-cream.html
  • Gelato Museum Carpigiani. "About." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://gelatomuseum.com/en/about-en/
  • Gordon, Sarah. "Introducing the World's Museums..." The Daily Mail. March 31, 2010. (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/article-1260360/Top-weird-museums-world.html
  • Henderson, Nancy. "Salt and Pepper Shaker Collection." American Profile. Aug. 10, 2011. (Jan. 3, 2014) http://americanprofile.com/articles/salt-and-pepper-shaker-collection/
  • International Cryptozoology Museum. "About." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://cryptozoologymuseumstore.tictail.com/about
  • Live Science. "Tour the International Cryptozoology Museum." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.livescience.com/39933-cryptozoology-museum-bigfoot-photos.html
  • Long, Matt. "Spending a Day at the Gelato University and Museum in Bologna." Land Lopers. Jan. 9, 2013. (Jan. 6, 2014) http://landlopers.com/2013/01/09/carpigiani/
  • Meguro Parasitological Museum. "About Us." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.kiseichu.org/Pages/eaboutus.aspx
  • Museum of Bad Art. "About MOBA." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.museumofbadart.org/about/index.php
  • Museum of Quackery. "Foot Operated Breast Enlarger Pump, 1976." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.museumofquackery.com/devices/benlarge.htm
  • Museum of Quackery. "Shoe Fitting X-Ray Device." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.museumofquackery.com/devices/shoexray.htm
  • Mutter Museum. "The Mutter Museum." (Jan. 7, 2014) http://www.collegeofphysicians.org/mutter-museum/
  • Obscura, Atlas. "Spice Up Your Dating Life With a 29-Foot Tapeworm." Slate. Oct. 21, 2013. (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.slate.com/blogs/atlas_obscura/2013/10/21/meguro_parasitological_museum_spice_up_your_dating_life_with_a_29_foot_tapeworm.html
  • Roadside America. "Barney Smith's Toilet Seat Art Museum." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/6166
  • Roadside America. "Mutter Museum." (Jan. 7, 2014) http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2207
  • The Icelandic Phallological Museum. "The Museum." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://phallus.is/en/themuseum.html
  • The Salt and Pepper Shaker Museum. "The World's Only Salt and Pepper Shaker Museum." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://thesaltandpeppershakermuseum.com/Home.aspx
  • Truman, Cheryl. "Kentucky's Vent Haven Museum Holds the Wonders of Ventriloquism." Kentucky. July 7, 2013. (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.kentucky.com/2013/07/07/2706972/kentuckys-vent-haven-museum-holds.html
  • Visit Philly. "Mutter Museum." (Jan. 7, 2014) http://www.visitphilly.com/museums-attractions/philadelphia/mutter-museum/
  • Yelp. "Museum of Bad Art." (Jan. 3, 2014) http://www.yelp.com/biz/museum-of-bad-art-somerville

More to Explore