Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

5 Suggestions for Scenic Cycling Day Trips


Author's Note: 5 Suggestions for Scenic Cycling Day Trips

I've cycled through wine-soaked Sonoma County, in stunning British Columbia and along some of the most beautiful trails in New Zealand, and I have to say, it's a great way to travel. Healthy, too. So the next time you're headed somewhere, consider renting some wheels and checking out the scene by bike. You won't regret it.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Alexander Valley. "Welcome to our way of life." (June 5, 2012) http://www.alexandervalley.org/content/view/about
  • Asti Tour de Vine. "Autumn Cycling in Sonoma County." (June 5, 2012) http://www.astitourdevine.com/
  • Bicycle Touring Guide. "Bicycling France." (June 5, 2012) http://www.bicycle-touring-guide.com/bicycling-france/#provence
  • Burren National Park. "Welcome to the Burren National Park Website." (June 5, 2012) http://www.burrennationalpark.ie/
  • Business Support Center. "Outgoing tourizm market research (statistics, needs, other useful information): Part II." February 2008. (June 5, 2012) http://www.bsc.am/caps/Geo&Activity_based_market_research_Eng_Vol2.pdf
  • Christopher, Gayle. "Scenic Cycling." Coastal Living. (June 4, 2012) http://www.coastalliving.com/travel/top-10/scenic-cycling-00400000000541/
  • Cliffs of Moher. "The Cliffs." (June 5, 2012) http://www.cliffsofmoher.ie/TheCliffs.aspx
  • Cycle China. "Great Wall Beijing - One Day Great Wall Biking Tour." (June 5, 2012) http://www.cyclechina.com/Tours/2007/5/200751300174.html
  • Cycle New Zealand. "Christchurch Day Tours." (June 4, 2012) http://www.cyclenewzealand.com/biking/christchurch-day-tours/
  • Getaway Adventures. "Velo 'n Vino Tour." (June 5, 2012) http://getawayadventures.com/tour/velo-n-vino-tour/
  • Girona Cycle Centre. "Cycling Day trips From Girona." (June 4, 2012) http://www.gironacyclecentre.com/day-trips-from-girona/76-cycling-day-trips-from-girona
  • Grenoble Cycling. "Mont Ventoux - The Giant of Provence." (June 5, 2012) http://www.grenoblecycling.com/MontVentoux.htm
  • Lane, Jo. "Asia's top cycling destinations." Travel Wire Asia. March 30, 2012. (June 4, 2012) Asia's top cycling destinations
  • Lonely Planet. "Saddle up for the world's best cycling routes." May 2012. (June 4, 2012) http://www.lonelyplanet.com/italy/travel-tips-and-articles/75502
  • Masters, Sheri. "Bicycling Surges in Popularity." Four Seasons Magazine. April 14, 2010. (June 4, 2012) http://magazine.fourseasons.com/concierge-recommends/sport-outdoors/golf-leisure/bicycling_surges_in_popularity
  • Roe, Nicholas. "Top 10 day ride cycle routes in Britain." The Telegraph. Sept. 26, 2008. (June 4, 2012) http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/activityandadventure/3080381/Top-10-day-ride-cycle-routes-in-Britain.html
  • Selinsky, Debbie. "Biking on the Great Wall of China." (June 4, 2012) http://traveltips.usatoday.com/biking-great-wall-china-15269.html
  • Sonoma Cycling Adventures. "The Best Scenic Rides." (June 4, 2012) http://www.sonomacyclingadventures.com/Sonomacyclingadventurestrip2.html
  • Takaro Trails. "Takaro Trails." (June 4, 2012) http://www.takarotrails.co.nz/
  • The Cycling Diaries. "Happiness is a holiday on two wheels -- cycling holidays grow more popular." Aug. 17, 2011. (June 4, 2012) http://www.thecyclingdiaries.co.uk/cyclingholidays/happiness-is-a-holiday-on-two-wheels-cycling-holidays-grow-more-popular
  • The Guardian. "Top 10 cycle rides in Europe." July 28, 2008. (June 4, 2012) http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2008/jul/28/cyclingholidays.europe
  • Travel China Guide. "Great Wall of China." (June 5, 2012) http://www.travelchinaguide.com/china_great_wall/
  • UNESCO. "The Great Wall." (June 5, 2012) http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/438
  • Wine Country Bikes. "One Day Bike Tours." (June 5, 2012) https://www.winecountrybikes.com/one-day-bike-tours/index.asp
  • You Claim. "Bicycle accident warning for holidaymakers." (June 4, 2012) http://www.youclaim.co.uk/article-rise-in-holiday-bicycle-accidents-possible.htm

More to Explore