Up Next

|
Lots More Information
10 Best Street Foods From Around the World
Sure, you can get a cheeseburger almost anywhere, but when you're traveling, why not sample the food the locals specialize in – and love? Street food gives you a tasty window into another culture. Here are our recommendations for your next trip. Read more »
Related Articles
Sources
  • Arnold, Amanda. "La Isla de las Munecas: Land of Eerie Dolls." HowStuffWorks Blogs. Oct. 21, 2010. (March 1, 2011)http://blogs.howstuffworks.com/2010/10/21/la-isla-de-las-munecas-land-of-eerie-dolls/
  • Arnold, Caroline. "Easter Island: Giant Stone Statues Tell of a Rich and Tragic Past. New York: Clarion Books, 2000.
  • "Alcatraz Island." National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior. Jan. 9, 2011. (March 1, 2011)http://www.nps.gov/alca/index.htm
  • Belluck, Pam. "Drifting into a Debate." San Francisco Chronicle. Nov. 6, 2005. (March 1, 2011)http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2005/11/06/MNGLTFJQQ71.DTL&feed=rss.news
  • Bon, Riccardo. "Healthy Islands." Venice Magazine. September/October 2004. (March 1, 2011)http://www.venicemagazine.it/VM23.pdf
  • Booth, Robert. " Pitfalls in Paradise: Why Palm Jumeirah is Struggling to Live Up to the Hype." The Guardian. April 26, 2008. (March 2, 2011)http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2008/apr/26/travelnews
  • Burke-Gaffney, Brian. "Hashima: The Ghost Island." Cabinet Magazine. Summer 2002. (March 1, 2011)http://www.cabinetmagazine.org/issues/7/hashima.php
  • Clark, Josh. "5 Modern Abandoned Cities." HowStuffWorks. June 2, 2008. (March 1, 2011)http://adventure.howstuffworks.com/abandoned-city.htm
  • "Conservation and Sustainable Use of the Socotra Archipelago, Republic of Yemen." Socotra Conservation and Development Programme. 2011. (March 1, 2011)http://www.socotraisland.org/
  • Dabu, Christl. "The Most Haunted Places on Earth: Poveglia Island, Venice, Italy." MSN Travel. 2011. (March 1, 2011)http://travel.ca.msn.com/international/photogallery.aspx?cp-documentid=26085316&page=7
  • Draper, Robert. "Madagascar's Pierced Heart." National Geographic. September 2010. (March 1, 2011)http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2010/09/madagascar/draper-text/1
  • Edwards, Haley Sweetland. "Surreal beauty on Yemen's remote Socotra Island." The Seattle Times. April 24, 2010. (March 1, 2011)http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/travel/2011667410_tryemenisland25.html
  • Foer, Joshua. "The Island People." Slate. Feb. 25, 2011. (March 1, 2011)http://www.slate.com/id/2286372/
  • "Fort Boyard." Official Website for the Island of Oleron. 2011. (March 1, 2011)http://www.ile-oleron-marennes.com/ile-d-oleron-bassin-de-marennes/patrimoine/fort-boyard.html
  • Gettleman, Jeffrey. "Only in Madagascar." The New York Times. Dec. 17, 2010. (March 1, 2011)http://travel.nytimes.com/2010/12/19/travel/19madagascar.html?pagewanted=1
  • Istvan, Zoltan. "Rough Waters for Peru's Floating Islands." National Geographic News. July 3, 2003. (March 1, 2011)http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/07/0703_030703_laketiticaca.html
  • Lida, David. First Stop in the New World: Mexico City, the Capital of the 21st Century. New York: Riverhead Books, 2008.
  • "Madagascar Country Profile." BBC News. Jan. 22, 2011. (March 1, 2011)http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/country_profiles/1063208.stm
  • "Meet the First Resident of Dubai's Palm-Shaped Man-Made Island." The Daily Mail. June 22, 2007. (March 1, 2011)http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-463694/Meet-resident-Dubais-palm-shaped-man-island.html
  • "The Palm Trilogy Homepage." Nakheel. 2007. (March 1, 2011)http://www.thepalm.ae/
  • "Poveglia Island's Haunted History." Travel Channel. 2011 (March 1, 2011)http://www.travelchannel.com/TV_Shows/Ghost_Adventures/Special_Features/Poveglia_Islands_Haunted_History?tablabel=selected
  • "Secrets of Easter Island." NOVA. November 2000. (March 1, 2011)http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/easter/explore/
  • Valhouli, Christina. "The Spookiest Places." Forbes.com. 2006. (March 1, 2011)http://www.forbes.com/2004/10/28/cx_cv_1028feat.html
|