Up Next

|
Lots More Information
10 Best Street Foods From Around the World
Sure, you can get a cheeseburger almost anywhere, but when you're traveling, why not sample the food the locals specialize in – and love? Street food gives you a tasty window into another culture. Here are our recommendations for your next trip. Read more »
Author's Note: 10 Adrenaline Rushes for Your Next Vacation

I consider myself a pretty adventurous person. Just about every time I take a trip it's to do some sort of outdoor activity, like rock climbing, mountain biking or backpacking. But my quest for excitement has its limits. Most importantly, I prefer to get my adrenaline rushes on solid ground as opposed to the air or water. So maybe we'll meet one day on the summit of the Grand Teton or on a Bolivian single-track, but don't expect to see me diving with sharks or flying through space anytime soon. But if you're game, I say go for it!

Related ArticlesMore Great Links
Sources
  • Air Combat USA. Homepage. 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.aircombat.com/index.php
  • Apex Shark Expeditions. Homepage. 2010. (May 17, 2012) http://www.apexpredators.com/
  • BBC News. "Bull Gores Man to Death in Spain." July 10, 2009. (May 17, 2012) http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8143744.stm
  • Bradley, Tyson. "Steep Skiing in the West -- A Look Back." Utah Adventure Journal. December 2, 2010. (May 17, 2012) http://www.utahadvjournal.com/index.php/steep-skiing-in-the-west-a-look-back
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. "CDC Injury Fact Book." November 2006. (May 15, 2012) http://www.cdc.gov/Injury/Publications/FactBook/
  • Chang, Kenneth. "Booking a Flight to Space, with Travel Insurance." The New York Times. Jan. 3, 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/04/science/space/spaceflights-prepare-to-expand-customer-base.html?pagewanted=all
  • Council of Pamplona. "The Bull Run." 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.pamplona.net/VerPagina.asp?IdPag=287&Idioma=5
  • Dale Jarrett Racing Adventure. Homepage. 2011. (May 17, 2012) http://www.racingadventure.com/
  • Doug Foley's Drag Racing Experience. Homepage. 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.dougfoley.com/
  • Extreme Seal Experience. Homepage. 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.extremesealexperience.com/
  • Exum Mountain Guides. Homepage. 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.exumguides.com/
  • Graves, Jada A. "Most Dangerous Vacations." U.S. News and World Report. 2012. (May 15, 2012) http://travel.usnews.com/features/Most_Dangerous_Vacations/
  • Gravity Assisted Mountain Biking. Homepage. 2010. (May 17, 2012) http://www.gravitybolivia.com/index.php?mod=homeb
  • Incredible Adventures. "Cage Dive with Tiger Sharks." 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.incredible-adventures.com/sharks_bahamas.html
  • Meisel, Zachary F. "10 Dangerous Places to Vacation: Why Where You Live, Work or Play Matters for Your Health." Time. July 19, 2011. (May 15, 2012) http://www.time.com/time/health/article/0,8599,2083636,00.html
  • National Geographic Adventure. "The World's Best New Adventure Travel Trips." 2007. (May 15, 2012) http://www.nationalgeographic.com/adventure/adventure-travel/index.html
  • New York Magazine. "The Adrenaline Junkie." April 4, 2010. (May 15, 2012) http://nymag.com/travel/2010/spring/65233/
  • Points North Heli-Adventures, Inc. Homepage. 2010. (May 17, 2012) http://www.alaskaheliski.com/
  • Prettyman, Brett. "North Face Grand Teton: The Ultimate Rescue." The Salt Lake Tribune. Aug. 21, 2009. (May 17, 2012) http://www.sltrib.com/outdoors/ci_13169395
  • Romero, Simon. "Bolivia's Only Ski Resort Is Facing a Snowless Future." The New York Times. Feb. 2, 2007. (May 17, 2012) http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/02/world/americas/02bolivia.html
  • Shermans Travel. "Top 10 Extreme Vacations." MSNBC.com. May 8, 2008. (May 15, 2012) http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/24509704/ns/travel-active_travel/t/top-extreme-vacations/#.T7cU4L9HtaG
  • Siber, Kate. "Ultimate Adventure Bucket List 2011." National Geographic. 2011. (May 15, 2012) http://adventure.nationalgeographic.com/adventure/trips/ultimate-adventure-bucket-list/
  • Sloan, Gene. "Vacations Cater to Adrenaline Junkies." USA Today. March 20, 2001. (May 15, 2012) http://www.usatoday.com/life/travel/leisure/2001/2001-03-20-multisport.htm
  • Space Adventures. Homepage. 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.spaceadventures.com/index.cfm
  • The George Washington University School of Business, The Adventure Travel Trade Association, and Xola Consulting. "Adventure Tourism Market Report." August 2010. (May 15, 2012) http://www.xolaconsulting.com/Adventure-Market-2010.pdf
  • Titanic Expedition: Visit the Titanic. Homepage. 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://titanic.adventures.com/
  • Vora, Shivani. "Adrenaline Junky? Best Trips for Thrill-seekers." MSNBC.com. August 27, 2007. (May 15, 2012) http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/20393614/ns/travel-active_travel/t/adrenaline-junky-best-trips-thrill-seekers/#.T7fMlb9HtaH
  • Walsh, Erica. "Extreme Adrenaline Rushes." Travel Channel. 2012. (May 15, 2012) http://www.travelchannel.com/interests/outdoors-and-adventure/articles/extreme-adrenaline-rushes
  • Valdez Heli-Ski Guides. Homepage. 2012. (May 17, 2012) http://www.valdezheliskiguides.com/index.html
  • ZERO-G. Homepage. 2008. (May 17, 2012) http://www.gozerog.com/index.cfm
|